>
news
Adult services

Lambeth recognises some remarkable carers

An awards ceremony hosted by Lambeth Council and NHS Lambeth has honoured some of the borough’s remarkable carers, people who freely give their time and energy to make a huge difference to someone else’s life.

No less than 34 carers, along with two runners up, were presented by the Mayor of Lambeth Council, Dr Raj Patel and Girda Niles, Non Executive Director at NHS Lambeth with certificates and flowers at a moving ceremony organised by Lambeth Council’s Adults and Community Services.

And, in what was described by Lambeth Council executive director Jo Cleary as “an incredibly difficult decision, local resident John Snusher was chosen as “Lambeth Carer of the Year”.

John was nominated by his friend Gail Thompson. She said “In 1986 I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis and John has been there for me every day since. I could not wish for a better person to receive an accolade for all the time he has given up and been there for me.

“My mother died of cancer but while she was ill and suffering John looked after her as well as me. John is no spring chicken but yet takes me shopping, goes to the bank, takes me to church, cleans the flat, cooks for me and looks after me in every other area of my life.

John is now 73 years old and still he keeps going for me. How will I ever be able to thank him,” asked Gail.

Announcing this, Jo Cleary said “Although we believe everyone in this room deserves an award we wanted to recognise the efforts of someone who we believe has overcome particular difficulties and made incredible sacrifices to provide care. That someone is John.”

John Snusher was presented with flowers, gift vouchers, a certificate and plaque.

“We have heard some amazing stories of people who overcame barriers, and personal challenges such as their own illness, whilst still putting the person they cared for first. I know there are many more people in Lambeth with stories like this and we want to give carers a chance to shine.” said Lambeth Council Cabinet Member for Health and Wellbeing, Councillor Jim Dickson.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Archives

Join 190 other followers

